St. Charles Misdemeanor Lawyer
Misdemeanor offenses are the least serious of all crimes in Missouri. These crimes carry up to a year of jail time. However, the most minor misdemeanors may be punished by only a fine. Nevertheless, if you are convicted of a misdemeanor, you will face some type of criminal penalty along with the collateral damage of a permanent criminal record. If you have had prior misdemeanor convictions, a new misdemeanor charge can have more serious penalties and consequences. These records are accessible online allowing any future employer, landlord, educational institution, or others to view them. This puts you at a disadvantage for jobs, careers, housing, and other opportunities.
The smartest action you can take when charged with a misdemeanor is to bring in a competent criminal defense lawyer. At James E. Carmichael, Attorney at Law, you will have the benefit of Mr. Carmichael’s extensive 40+-year professional history, his positive reputation among prosecutors and judges as a worthy adversary and trial lawyer, and his dedication to serving clients with care and diligence. You will get straight talk and an aggressive stance on your side as he prepares your case for court and fights for the best possible outcome.
Arrange for a free case review with a St. Charles misdemeanor attorney by contacting James E. Carmichael, Attorney at Law online or at (636) 442-0077. We serve clients throughout the counties of St. Charles, St. Louis, and Lincoln.
- Penalty Reduced First Degree Murder
- Not Guilty First Degree Assault
- Not Guilty Verdict Felony Discharging of a Firearm
- Charges Dropped Felony Assault
- Case Dismissed DWI
- Avoided Prison DWI
- Case Dismissed DWI
- Amended Charges Domestic Assault First Degree
- No Conviction Distribution of a Controlled Substance
- Not Guilty Verdict Arson
“A win for Carmichael” - Tim
“The man to go to!” - Judy
“Undoubtedly best of the best.” - Bob
Our firm takes pride in what former clients have to say about how their cases were handled by James E. Carmichael, Attorney at Law.
Misdemeanor Charges in Missouri
The state of Missouri classifies misdemeanor offenses into four groups according to the seriousness of the crime.
- Class A: these are punishable by up to a year in jail and/or a fine of up to $2,000
- Class B: these are punishable by up to six months in jail and/or a fine of up to $1,000
- Class C: these are punishable by up to 15 days in jail and/or a fine of up to $750
- Class D: these are punishable by a fine of up to $500
Jail sentences when convicted of a misdemeanor will be for a set period. Fines may be increased, however, for more than what is set by law if you profited by the crime. You may be fined up to twice the amount of what you gained by the misdemeanor offense.
Examples of misdemeanors include possession of marijuana, possession of drug paraphernalia, shoplifting, disturbing the peace, driving without a license, driving with a revoked or suspended license, assault in the fourth degree, DWI/DUI, domestic assault in the fourth degree, trespassing, and vandalism.
If you have prior convictions when charged with a misdemeanor, you will likely face harsher penalties than what your charge entails. For example, if you are found with a small quantity of marijuana that is charged as a Class D misdemeanor but you have a prior drug conviction, your charge may be elevated to a Class A misdemeanor.
Probation instead of Jail Time
For some misdemeanors, you may be able to avoid jail time through probation, during which you will need to comply with all of the conditions and restrictions set by the judge. These could include alcohol/drug treatment, restitution to victims, community service hours, house arrest, and other terms. Your attorney can negotiate this in cases where it is appropriate.
40 Years of Criminal Defense Experience
Countless Jury Trials Successfully Won
Honest & Straightforward Guidance
Highly Respected by Peers, Prosecutors and Judges